CTV News is reporting that vandals hit at least 25 homes in Toronto this weekend, cutting telephone and power lines, spray painting property, and cutting the brake lines on several vehicles.  According to the Liberal party, every home that was vandalized was sporting a lawn sign supporting the local Liberal candidate.

The police are stating that it is too early in the investigation to speculate about motives.  However, one of the vehicles belonged to the local candidate’s official agent for the campaign;  he discovered that his brake line had been cut after his car was unable to stop at a stop sign.

According to the story, Liberal supporters in two other ridings were also victimized during two by-elections held earlier this year.

WTF is going on here???  This is not the Canadian way, at least not that I’m aware.  Intimidation through violence is not supposed to happen here.  And cutting brake lines?  I am horrified at the thought.  Spray painting is one thing, but this is outrageous.

When I first heard this story on CTV Newsnet, I was half-asleep.  I got out of bed and went to the laptop to verify that I’d heard correctly.  It was too soon for the story to be online, though, so I thought that my mind had just concocted some weird combination of news stories.  But I kept checking, and sure enough, the story soon appeared on their website.  The fact that this is real… you could knock me over with a feather, dude.

What does everybody else think about this?  Is it the inevitable erosion of politics in Canada, or is it really as inconceivable as I think it is?

