“For today’s prompt, I want you to pick an animal; make that animal the title of your poem; then, write a poem.”

I found this prompt to be oddly uninspiring.  However, here’s my offering for today;  this is definitely a poem I will come back to rework.

.

Jaguar

.

Sinewy ceramic cat

Crouched on the curio cabinet.

Shades of gold, spotted sporadically,

Green luminous eyes.

You are a cylinder of coiled energy –

Will you spring today?

I wait, like my mother

And her mother before,

Hoping to see your intensity

Explode across the room.

.

You once belonged to my

Great-grandmother,

Whom I did not know.

She was a lady, laced up straight,

Quick to correct and shame.

But she chose you, jungle cat,

To decorate her parlour,

To menace in readiness

For an eternity.

The severe and strict Puritan

I know too much already.

Yet I would know, if I could,

That vital and sensuous soul

Who cherished your feline grace.

