“For today’s prompt, I want you to write a poem about a landmark. It can be a famous landmark (like Mount Rushmore or the Sphinx) or a little more subdued (like the town water tower or an interesting sign).”

Well, my offering today is either tremendously sad, or brilliantly inspired.  I’m too tired to know which!  Thanks to Dr. Seuss for the title.  (I hate coming up with titles;  today, the best I can do is to borrow one.)  I think I’m on the “sad” end of the spectrum, but I spent the afternoon at a rally obedience dog trial, so you get what’s left over (which is not much!).  I’ll have to come back to this poem sometime when I’m not exhausted and see what I think.

.

One Bridge, Two Bridge, Red Bridge, Blue Bridge

.

A tale of two bridges:

Hubbub, clamor, controversy.

Whoever would dare to propose

new names?

.

One, the Overlander Bridge,

affectionately known as

the “Blue Bridge”,

isn’t a renaming at all

as much as it is an “Oops!”

Call it a correction, if you will:

How many decades has there been

an “s” at the end of “Overlander”?

Who knew, and why didn’t they say something?

The debate petered out, because

who calls it the Overlander anyway?

It’s the Blue Bridge,

and that’s good enough for me.

.

The other, the “Red Bridge”,

doesn’t really have a name

in the first place.

Curious…

But if you suggest an actual name,

you will be tarred and feathered

and left at the curb for pickup.

Yes, we like our bridges as they are –

don’t threaten who we are

by suggesting something different!

We like our creativity just as it is:

red and blue, thank you.

