Today’s prompt:  “For today’s poem, I want you to write a poem about something missing. It can be about an actual physical object or something you just can’t put your finger on (like “love” or “the spirit of Christmas” or something).”

I struggled for quite a while today with a poem about missing persons, which is a topic that I have been somewhat obsessed with lately.  I am driven to write about it;  I thought a poem might work.  Not so much, it turns out.  So here is today’s offering, which is a bit of a cop-out, but I’m going to puppy class tonight and am not going to spend any more time beating my head against the wall.  Perhaps I’ll write about missing persons another day…

.

Tripod Dog

.

Missing is

a matter of perspective.

Three legs instead of four;

you think one is missing.

But I know better,

I don’t miss that leg at all.

