Today’s prompt:  “Two for Tuesday” – Robert offers two prompts on Tuesdays;  writers can choose which one to use as inspiration, or (the keeners) can write a poem for each.

“Prompt #1: I want you to write a clean poem. Take this however you wish. Clean language, clean subject matter, or cleaning the dishes. Of course, some twisted few will automatically link “cleaning” with hired hitmen. That’s okay, as long as your poem is somehow linked to clean.”

OR

“Prompt #2: I want you to write a dirty poem. Take all that stuff I wrote in the first prompt and twist it upside down. The opposite of clean is dirty; so, do what ya gotta do to produce a dirty poem. (Gosh, I hope this challenge doesn’t get too messy as a result.)”

.

I am having a great deal of trouble concentrating today, and the other people in the house are not helping.  My kingdom for a quiet room!  So, even though I really want to do some more editing, I am to the point where I’m about to start throwing things.  I am quitting before I break something, and that gives me the perfect excuse for not having a title.  Hah, I managed to go almost an entire week before offering something without a title!

<!– /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:””; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-language:EN-US;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:35.4pt; mso-footer-margin:35.4pt; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} –>
/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}
.

.

.

The page is crisp and clean

when I begin.

Bright and white,

waiting for words to spill –

seems a shame to sully it.

.

I begin to scrawl my

ideas in medium blue.

Crooked lines of contemplation

creep across the paper,

spotted with crossed-out words.

Arrows and underlining,

brackets and insertions,

show my second thoughts.

I write feverishly,

pen flying,

squiggly letters showing

my hand is too slow.

.

I fill that empty slate,

and the once pristine page

becomes messy and marked.

Creativity begins

with cleanliness,

I guess.

