“For today’s prompt, I want you to take the phrase “So we decided to (blank)” and fill in the blank. Make that your title and write a poem. Some possibilities include “So we decided to plant a tree” or “So we decided to burn a hole in the sky.””

My offering today marks the 40% point of the challenge.  I am slightly surprised that I have made it this far.  Today, I am giving you a fragment of thought (perhaps poetic, perhaps not) that hasn’t been edited or polished at all.  It is just what came out onto the paper when I sat down to write.  I don’t have it in me today to do anything with it – blame it on the Easter Bunny!

.

Untitled

.

So we decided to start at the ears –

nothing novel about that.

Silky and thick, we let the chocolate

melt on our tongues.

The dog begged, futilely.

No emergency vet visits today!

We moved from the head down,

and two bites into the torso,

we slipped in to a cocoa-coma.

.

.

(And I’m not even going to give it a title.)

