“For today’s prompt, I want you to write a poem with an interaction of some sort. The interaction does NOT have to be between people, though it can. For instance, you could write about the interaction between a bee and a flower; or an owl and a field mouse. Or just write about a traffic cop getting into an argument with a speeder. Just as long as there is some sort of interaction going on.”

I am 60% of the way through this challenge!  Woo hoo!!!  Never thought I’d make it this far…

You may have noticed that when I don’t have any ideas, I write about dogs.  If I can’t think of anything else, that’s my default.  I didn’t want to do that today, so instead I wrote about a cat.  Here’s to you, Cleo-Belle.

.

.

The Courage of Cleo-Belle
.
The timid ginger cat
creeps up carefully on the balloon
as it rests on the living room floor.
She pauses, as a stray breeze
fools her into thinking
the mylar casing is alive.
When all returns to stillness,
she moves warily forward.
She stops one long stretch away
and cautiously raises her paw.
She holds her breath and bats.
The balloon skitters across the tile
and she bolts behind the chair.

