“For today’s prompt, I want you to write a poem of regret. Get creative with this one, but there should be some form of regret either expressed or hinted at (even if ever so slightly). You do NOT have to use the word “regret” in the poem, though it’s fine if you do.”

After today’s poem, there is only one more week to go in the challenge!

Today’s offering is another untitled draft. I’m surprised I’ve been able to put titles (at least working ones) on so many of my poems! But today, I’ve got a lot of work to do, and my mind is not leading me quickly to anything. So I’m moving on – at least I remembered to write something before the last minute today!

.

.

Untitled

.

The town is closing in on her.
Everyone knows her secrets
and what she ate for breakfast.
Gossip travels at light speed
through the salons and offices
into hungry, waiting ears.
She just makes a decision
when the phone rings to tell her
why it won’t work and
what she should do instead.

.

She doesn’t know how she’s been able
to pack every suitcase she owns
without half the town showing up
on her front doorstep.
(The drawn curtains helped,
although there are seventeen
messages demanding
to know why?)

.

In the 2 a.m. darkness, she sneaks
into her car. As she escapes
down Main Street to the highway,
she thinks for one short moment
about her best friend from high school
who lives next door and will ache.
She aches herself at leaving only
a time-delayed goodbye email.
But she keeps driving and
turns north onto the interstate.

